Welcome to the 90s! Nineties Berlin gives you a taste of life in Berlin during this very special time. What were the predominant themes of this era? What was so special about Berlin and why are creatives and visionaries from all over the world still drawn to this city even today?

dictatorship – Wall – Freedom

Photo:
 picture alliance / Associated Press

The triumph of the Peaceful Revolution over the Socialist unity party dictatorship was a joyful event that was discussed all over the world on the day the Berlin Wall came down. On November 9, 1989, tens of thousands celebrated the fall of the Berlin Wall, whose builders were responsible for the separation of families and 140 deaths at the Wall. At least 327 people in total died at the inner-German border. The symbol for all these deaths had now been conquered by people from East and West: they climbed by the hundreds onto the Wall, scaled the 26-meter-high Brandenburg Gate up to the quadriga on New Year’s Eve 1989/1990 and, in the months that followed, tore down the Berlin Wall in the heart of the city. The “wall peckers” broke up what was left of the once untouchable symbol of the division of Germany and gave people the right to acquire their own souvenir of this unique event, unlike anything else in the world.

Kai-Uwe Kohlschmidt
As it was, the people in the West also experienced a turnaround. Their country was also going to change dramatically.
Kai-Uwe Kohlschmidt, back then punk rocker, born in East Germany

Techno – Love Parade – Underground

Photo: akg-images / AP

After the Berlin Wall came down on November 9, 1989, new spaces emerged in the previously divided city where people from the East, West, and the entire world could pursue their visions. Berlin became an incomparable adventure playground for ideas. Musicians, artists and creatives occupied houses or opened cafés, clubs and galleries. As early as summer 1989, techno fans were dancing in the streets at the LoveParade as incredulous passers-by looked on. Four years later, the crowd of 150 people had grown to more than 100,000, and by the mid-90s over a million techno aficionados were making the pilgrimage to Tiergarten in Berlin. The Love Parade had become a mass phenomenon, as techno united people from East and West and the LoveParade became a symbol of freedom in Berlin. In less than five years, the divided city of Berlin, once a showcase for the Cold War, had become a cosmopolitan city with hordes of people dancing in the streets to techno.

Anarchy – Transition – Visions

Photo: akg-images / Hansgeorg Schöner

The demise of East Germany brought freedom and uncertainty at the same time. While some politicians planned a democratic East Germany, others wanted a reunification of the two German states. People took advantage of the new freedom but also watched as the old system disappeared, capitalism swept in and economic upheaval changed everyday life. But these free zones were not just theoretical. In East Berlin, squatters occupied houses, and old and familiar structures were discarded. Buildings in Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg, which had fallen into disrepair during the East German era, now grew independently of any legal structures into places of anarchy, creativity and youth culture. This exciting and liberal era went down in history and formed the roots of myth of ‘Berlin’. But the new freedoms and diverse changes also led to radicalism. The violence and brutality of hooligans and far-right extremists spread after the fall of the Berlin Wall. Nineties Berlin provides a forum for contemporary witnesses to share their personal memories of this period.

Sven Friedrich
It was basically a zone without any laws. Yeah, it was almost like anarchy.
Sven Friedrich, store owner and former hooligan

art – Upheaval – Subculture

Photo: Stefan Schilling

November 9, 1989 had shown how the unthinkable became possible. Change and the transformation of values was now part of everyday life in the previously divided city of Berlin. Vacant and free zones drew in life and ideas. Funding, authorizations and conventions only played a small part in the implementation of ideas. People had the opportunity to experiment without financial pressure. Artists opened galleries in courtyards, squatters moved into empty buildings in East Berlin, clubs were launched in old and forgotten industrial wastelands. "Tresor", the "Bunker", the "Tekknozid parties" and the "Kunsthaus Tacheles" were examples of an underground culture that is now famous throughout the world. Yet, only a few of these places and events that emerged in the 90s have outlasted this era of fast-paced change. Nineties Berlin tells the story of some of the most fascinating ones.

buy Tickets NOW

Willkommen in den 90er Jahren! Nineties Berlin vermittelt dir das Lebensgefühl in Berlin in dieser ganz besonderen Zeit. Aber welche Themen spielten in dieser Epoche eine Rolle, was war das Besondere an Berlin und warum zieht es noch heute Kreative und Visionäre aus der ganzen Welt in diese Stadt?

Diktatur – Mauer – Freiheit

Foto:
 picture alliance / Associated Press

Die Überwindung der SED-Diktatur durch die Friedliche Revolution war ein freudiges Ereignis, das am Tag des Mauerfalls weltweit Thema wurde. Zehntausende feierten am 9. November 1989 den Fall der Mauer, deren Erbauer für die Trennung von Familien und 140 Berliner Maueropfer verantwortlich waren. Insgesamt starben an der deutsch-deutschen Grenze mindestens 327 Menschen. Das Symbol für all die Toten wurde nun von den Menschen aus Ost und West erobert: Sie kletterten zu Hunderten auf die Mauer, erklommen zum Jahreswechsel 1989/1990 die Quadriga in 26 Metern Höhe auf dem Brandenburger Tor und rissen in den Monaten danach die Berliner Mauer aus dem Herzen der Stadt. Die sogenannten Mauerspechte zerstückelten die Reste des einst unantastbaren Symbols der Deutschen Teilung und etablierten so das Recht auf ein eigenes Stück Erinnerung an diese weltweit einmaligen Ereignisse.

Kai-Uwe Kohlschmidt
im grunde genommen haben die leute im westen auch eine wende erlebt. also auch ihr land sollte sich stark verändern.
Kai-Uwe Kohlschmidt, damaliger Punkrocker, geboren in der DDR

Techno – Loveparade – Underground

Foto: akg-images / AP

Mit dem Fall der Berliner Mauer am 9.11.1989 entstanden in der vormals geteilten Stadt Freiräume, die Menschen aus Ost, West und der ganzen Welt für ihre Visionen nutzten. Berlin wurde zu einem unvergleichlichen Abenteuerspielplatz für Ideen. Musiker/-innen, Künstler/-innen und Kreative besetzten Häuser oder eröffneten Cafés, Clubs und Galerien. Bereits im Sommer 1989 tanzten Technofans während der ersten Loveparade auf der Straße unter den Augen der ungläubigen Passantinnen und passanten. Vier Jahre später waren aus 150 Personen mehr als 100.000 geworden und Mitte der 90er Jahre pilgerten regelmäßig über eine Million Technobegeisterte in den Berliner Tiergarten. Die Loveparade war zu einem Massenphänomen geworden, Techno einte die Menschen in Ost und West und so wurde die Loveparade in Berlin zum Symbol der Freiheit. In weniger als fünf Jahren ist aus der geteilten Stadt Berlin, einem Schauplatz des Kalten Krieges, eine weltoffene Stadt mit auf der Straße zu Techno tanzenden Massen geworden.

Anarchie – Wandel – Visionen

Foto: akg-images / Hansgeorg Schöner

Der Untergang der DDR brachte Freiheit und Ungewissheit zugleich. Während einige Politiker/-innen eine demokratische DDR planten, wollten andere die Vereinigung der beiden deutschen Staaten. Die Bevölkerung nutzte die neue Freiheit, erlebte aber auch, wie Altbekanntes verschwand, der Kapitalismus Einzug hielt und wirtschaftliche Umbrüche den Alltag veränderten. Es gab aber nicht nur theoretisch neue Freiräume: In Ost-Berlin wurden Häuser besetzt, altbekannte Strukturen überwunden. Gebäude in Mitte und Prenzlauer Berg, die zu DDR-Zeiten verfallen waren, wuchsen nun unabhängig von Gesetzen zu Orten der Anarchie, der Kreativität und Jugendkultur heran. Diese aufregende, weltoffene Zeit ging in die Geschichte ein und begründete den Mythos „Berlin“. Die neuen Freiheiten und vielen Veränderungen führten aber auch zu Radikalismus. Die Gewalttätigkeit und Brutalität von Hooligans und Rechtsextremist/-innen breiteten sich nach dem Fall der Mauer weiter aus. Nineties Berlin gibt Zeitzeuginnen und zeitzeugen den Raum, ihre persönlichen Erinnerungen an diese Zeit zu teilen.

Sven Friedrich
du hast im prinzip 'nen rechtsfreien raum gehabt. ja, das war fast wie anarchie
Sven Friedrich, damaliger Hooligan, lebte in Ost-Berlin

Kunst – Umbruch – Subkultur

Foto: Stefan Schilling

Der 9. November 1989 hatte gezeigt: Das Undenkbare war möglich geworden, Veränderungen und Wertewandel gehörten nun zum Alltag des vormals geteilten Berlins. Leer- und Freiräume luden dazu ein, mit Leben und Ideen gefüllt zu werden. Dabei spielten Finanzierungen, Genehmigungen oder Konventionen nur eine untergeordnete Rolle bei der Umsetzung von Ideen. Man experimentierte ohne wirtschaftlichen Druck. Künstler/-Innen eröffneten Galerien in Hinterhöfen, leerstehende Altbauten in Ostberlin wurden besetzt, Clubs in alten vergessenen Industriebrachen gegründet. Der „Tresor“, die „Tekknozid Partys“ oder das "Kunsthaus Tacheles“ stehen beispielhaft für eine inzwischen weltweit bekannte Underground-kultur. Doch nur wenige dieser in den 90er Jahren entstandenen Orte und Veranstaltungen haben die Zeit der rasanten Veränderungen überdauert. Die Geschichte der Interessantesten erzählt nineties berlin.

Jetzt Tickets kaufen